Breakfast at Batley Bulldogs

One of the things I have learnt working in community development is the value of networking opportunities. So I was delighted to join the Business, Charity and Sporting networking breakfast at Batley Bulldogs, which is held at 08:00 on the last Friday of the month.

It was not only good to meet up with people I have had previously only had email conversations with but was an excellent opportunity to meet some new contacts in the community. The other factor I know is that you must always be prepared to give an account of yourself. So when I arrived and found myself being invited to give a short talk about my work to develop men’s sheds in Kirklees and why these are so important for the wellbeing of men in the community I was delighted to oblige.

Following the breakfast I had a number of conversations to follow up, including one gentleman who had just retired and was looking for something worthwhile to occupy his time.

DSC_0509

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

