Fun & Friendship at Huddersfield’s First Men’s Shed

Recently  I took the opportunity to visit the fist men’s shed Rural Action Yorkshire has helped set up with the Yorkshire Children’s Centre in Huddersfield. The shed meets each Friday between 10:00 and 14:00 next to Huddersfield Railway Station.  The men at the shed are engaged in building a garden and bike maintenance. As I approached I popped my head over the wall of the bridge to see what was going on. To my delight a whole team of men were actively involved in knocking some pallets apart to get some planks to make planters and the there was a real sense of purposeful activity.

After my first visit a couple of months ago the vegetables were now growing well and looked really healthy. A new pile of tyres had arrived, which I was told they were planning to paint to make more planters for flowers.

What impressed me most of all was the fun atmosphere which prevailed and how the guys were working together, sharing their skills and forming new friendships.

Members of the Huddersfield Men’s Shed

huddersfield-mens-shed

Leave a Reply

